CoD WaW Beta Review

So I finally managed to get my hands on one of those Call of Duty: World at War beta codes and got a chance to play it. While I was utterly surprised about the fullness of the beta, it also gave me a whole list of reasons as to why this game isn’t going to make it into my collection.

First of all, I bought the code for $1.00 on an internet forum. So to get a chance to play the game for $1.00 was worth it to me. It could save me $60 or convince me of why I should spend $60 to buy it. The demo lets you play the entire online play as if the game had already launched. All the things you could expect. Custom kits, leaderboards, challenges, and even ranks. I didn’t get too far up, but I hadn’t reached a point where something wasn’t available because it was the demo.

I played one game mode that was new to the game. It was some battle game where you take over areas of the map. Both opposing teams are attacking the same point at once. If one team controls it then they will move to their opponents next place. If they control that on to the final opponents base. Teams can regain them by controlling them. It’s hard to explain, but it was a great game idea I thought.

So game one of that I was thinking, ‘hey this game is sick!’ In fact, I sent a text to my gamer friend, 1337 gamer actually, saying the game was intense. At first glance the games intense. What really makes a game worth buying is hours, days, months down the road when you’ve been playing it daily.

A few games later I started to realize that airstrikes not only happened rather frequently, but were increased massively in power. It made it so that you are basically dead. I like the balance of the CoD4 airstrike, but this was just terrible. Then I started to hear these dogs barking. They were chasing after me. I shot one, oh sweet, 3 points for killing a dog. Well when the dogs are spawn camping you and you can’t get away you realize how terribly programmed they were.

The weapons were all fine, the maps that I got a chance to play on were pretty good. The sniper rifles were, in my mind, terrible. A single shot, forever reloading, gun should have enough power to kill in a single shot. To more than just the head. I mean really, when the sniper is hard enough to shoot with the life like non-steady hands and the moving, even running, soldiers it’s pretty hard to get a headshot for the average player.

Personally, I’ll wait for CoD6 to come out before investing in another Call of Duty game. That’s if I don’t decide to switch back from GoW2 to Halo. What are your opinions of the beta (or game depending upon when you read this)? Some additions or changes you especially like or dislike?

2 Responses to “CoD WaW Beta Review”

  1. ak2502 Says:

    From my point of view, I think CoD 5 is better than coD4. 🙂

    “I like the balance of the CoD4 airstrike, but this was just terrible” – Think !! It’s beta!!

  2. cod4source Says:

    I’m sure they’re both great games, but in my opinion it would be hard to match cod4 quality.


Leave a Reply

