My Red Ring of Death

I bought my Xbox 360 almost two years ago. It was used, but only a week old. I got a 2 year full coverage warranty from the guy who sold it to me. Man was I happy. The red ring of death is a killer, and I can’t even imagine going 6-8 weeks without my Xbox while I sent it in. So I was in luck, the red ring of death is covered by my warranty.

For those of you who don’t know about the red ring of death, it’s pretty simple. Basically, it’s a defect in the hardware that is a result of overheating consoles. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th player controller lights on the console will turn red, the center will remain green, and the 1st players controller light will remain off.

Microsoft has acknowledged the defect and has extended their warranty to a three year warranty to fix the problem. If you have the red ring of death you can check out xbox.com for more information as to what you need to do to get your Xbox repaired.

Anyways, like I was saying. I got the red ring of death today. A few hours later I drive down to Best Buy. Eventhough the guy couldn’t get my Xbox to actually show the red ring of death, he gave me my new Xbox. That’s why you buy your consoles at Best Buy. They aren’t going to try to avoid giving you a new one. I was very satisfied with their customer service.

Leave a Reply

